Mirror, Mirror, on the Jane

There are plenty of reasons why people read Jane Austen. People like romances, and they like great prose, and they like jokes about humanity, and they like stories they can come back to over and over again. But I think one of the main reasons people like Jane is that they find her characters realistic: flawed and funny and well-intentioned (but not always well-practiced), as so many people are. I think we see ourselves and the people we know, for better or for worse, in her work, and I think the flash of recognition is what keeps us coming back.

And so I ask you, readers:

With which Jane Austen character do you most identify, and why?

In a novelization of your life, which Austen character (major or supporting) would play you? Is your favorite character also your doppelganger? When did you first identify your Austen-est self? Tell us all about it.

To the comments!

 

Mirror, Mirror, on the Jane

4 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror, on the Jane

  1. I did that ‘which Jane Austen heroine are you?’ Buzzfeed quiz recently (didn’t we all?) and came out as Elinor Dashwood, which made a lot of sense to me. I’m pretty sensible (and often slightly sarcastic) and try not to stand out or rock the boat in social situations, which is a useful skill but not always a good habit, if you know what I mean. Not talking about things is also a problem for me, as it is for Elinor; we’re both good at keeping secrets, but like her I’m discovering that life is much easier when you can just Use Your Words with people.

    I also have definite shades of Fanny Price – mostly the timidity, combined with a strong sense of right and an insurmountable dread of acting – and of Edward Ferrars, as in the following quotation: “I never wish to offend, but I am so foolishly shy, that I often seem negligent, when I am only kept back by my natural awkwardness.”

    Basically, all of those Austen characters who have a lot of Feelings and Principles and find it hard to just tell people how they feel and ask for what they want? Those are my people.

    Like

  2. Stephani says:

    Well, I identify about equally with Elinor Dashwood and Elizabeth Bennet. I’m introverted, quiet in most situations, sensible, logical, and don’t really talk about my deeper feelings. But I’m also sarcastic and wry, love to laugh (at myself and other people), enjoy flirtatious banter, love to read, can’t bear hypocrites and recognize my own hypocrisy, and don’t take anyone else’s sh*%, least of all people whose lives don’t impact mine at all. And I tend to be most eloquent when I’m pissed off.

    Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    I’ve given this a lot of thought over the years, and I am fairly certain the best match is with Anne Elliott. She is shy about sharing her thoughts unless she is sure they’ll be listened to and valued. She prefers to be behind the scenes and doing useful things rather than in the spotlight getting attention for anything and everything. She loves to travel. She is loyal–not loudly or obnoxiously, just faithfully–to those she loves. She seeks to treat others well whether it’s warranted or not. She has opinions (or, better, convictions) that guide her, though others may not realize this because peace is more important to her than being right for the sake of being right. And once she has decided to act, she will follow through. Oh, and her life is a little bit boring unless someone else gives her an excuse to leave aside routine. And I think it’s fair to say she is too timid, especially when she is in the right and knows it; she really should be more vocal about her thoughts, since I’m sure she could share without being braggy or bossy. Even to her faults, I see myself in Anne.

    Like

Comments are closed.