On the End of Lizzie Bennet and Her Diaries

One week from this Thursday, the web series The Lizzie Bennet Diaries will hit one hundred episodes and call it quits. This, of course, is probably our cue to sneak a little LBD action in around here. We at Austenacious are nothing if not standing on the cutting edge of culture and technology, right?

Here’s one thing about me and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries: I think it’s good. I think it’s smartly written and well-performed. I like the transposing of romantic situations into professional situations, in sometimes surprising ways—I can’t be the only one who, for example, was pleasantly surprised when, duh, Charlotte marrying Mr. Collins was wasn’t Charlotte marrying Mr. Collins at all, because modern-day Charlotte doesn’t need to marry for practical reasons! Catherine de Bourgh is a venture capitalist, OBVIOUSLY!  I think the writers made a lot of smart choices and came up with something that’s a lot of fun.

Here’s another thing about me and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries: I do not have a lot of things to say about it, except “Aww!” and “Well, that was clever,” and “How can I have hair like Laura Spencer‘s?” (HER HAIR, YOU GUYS) and “Okay, just one more.” If that were less true, I can assure you I’d have talked about it more here. For the most part, I’ve enjoyed it without much comment.

What I DO want to discuss is the fandom that’s cropped up around the series—a discrete fandom, separate from Pride and Prejudice itself, complete with all the trappings: fanart, fanfiction, pre-episode squee spills all over Twitter and Tumblr and basically the rest of the Internet where people hang out, and, of course, a hearty band of trolls, presumably in empire-waist dresses. People are INTO IT,  easily as taken with Ashley Clements and Daniel Vincent Gordh as they are with plenty of traditional Lizzie/Darcy pairs. They’re agonizing over the ending: where will we leave Lizzie and Darcy, and will there be making out (“fingers crossed” seems to be the consensus, or maybe “THERE HAD BETTER BE MAKING OUT OR ELSE”), or will there be vague maybe-someday dating implications, or everything, or nothing, heaven forbid? They’re also discussing it—its relationship to the original text, its relationship to the ancillary series by Lydia and Maria Lu, a kitty named Kitty, the triumphs and vagaries of the web series medium, and especially the portrayal of Lydia, and whether the writers got her right or got her wrong, or were true to Jane’s vision or turned her into something new and incorrect. Some of this stuff is super smart, and some of it’s less smart, and some of it’s silly on purpose, and some of is decidedly not. Put it all together, and it’s a real live fandom.

And that, my friends, is a little amazing. All this for a story people already know, have already read and seen and talked through a million times and in a million forms. Much of the credit, of course, goes to Jane—she wrote a story that resonates with people, even if the regiment is really the swim team and a decent job at a start-up is just about as exciting as finding your true love. But the team behind the series must be doing something interesting, or I don’t think the discussion surrounding the LBD would be as vibrant as it is. It’s the difference between rehashing Pride and Prejudice and thinking about something new, with new creative choices—even when people don’t like what’s happening, they want to talk about it. And that seems, to me, like the real accomplishment: a new discussion of an old story. For me, watching the fans has been at least as exciting as watching the series.

So, tell me, readers: Are YOU in the LBD fandom? How are you doing with things coming to a close?

On the End of Lizzie Bennet and Her Diaries

9 thoughts on “On the End of Lizzie Bennet and Her Diaries

  1. Megs says:

    I am in the LBD fandom. I have greatly enjoyed seeing how the story is adapted for modern times, and, I must admit, I love the costume theater (especially Darcy in costume theater—hello adorably awkward). I too think it is “a little amazing” how much talk this series has generated about P&P, and I spend more time reading the comments every week than I do watching the videos. I love the texts I get from a certain friend: “OMG, have you watched LBD yet?” and “Watch LBD RIGHT NOW!” But what I love most about the LBD is how it extends the story. It is such fun to watch the story unfold, to see Lizzie and Darcy fall for each other over the course of a year rather than 2 hours (or 5). I feel it brings you to understand the characters differently than the book or movies do—to better understand the effects of time and distance on these characters. I will miss the LBD (I’ll have to find something else to brighten the plague called Mondays), but I am excited to see how it ends. And I really hope they adapt another story soon (I vote for Emma).

    Like

  2. I, too, am a member of the LBD fandom. It really is wonderful to see all the great things people have created as a result of the series, from critique and discussion of Lizzie’s vlogs in relation to the original novel that borders on the academic to fanart of Darcy as an agoraphobic lobster and everything in between. Like Megs, I’ve enjoyed having so much time to get to know the characters – it’s made me so much more invested in the outcome, especially when certain characters (like Lydia and Charlotte) have been developed in such interesting ways. The show itself is really innovative, as well; as far as I know it’s the only fictional vlog out there, and the costume theatre serves to highlight Lizzie’s prejudiced view of the people around her as well as allowing us to see the action that happens ‘off stage’ and (of course) creating some excellent comedy. And then of course there’s the whole ‘transmedia’ element, which I think is just a cool way to tell a story. Following all the characters across various social media platforms has certainly enriched my viewing experience.

    Personally I’m dealing with the end by spending a lot of time browsing the LBD tag on Tumblr and watching the other webseries I’ve discovered through the Lizzie Bennet Diaries, e.g. Squaresville (starring Mary Kate Wiles, aka Lydia), Character (with Laura Spencer, who plays Jane), and Hipsterhood (produced by Julia Cho/Charlotte Lu). I’ve also been speculating about which novel will be next – Emma is a definite possibility, but I’m kinda hoping for a Vlogbrothers-style adaptation of Sense and Sensibility and I’ve also heard that it might be something non-Austen like Anne of Green Gables or Jane Eyre.

    Like

      1. So it’s been announced that we won’t find out what the next full-length series is going to be until July, but in the mean time the LBD team is making a mini webseries adaptation of Sanditon. It’s going to be called ‘Welcome to Sanditon’ and apparently Gigi Darcy is going to be in it because it has something to do with the Domino app used in the Pemberley Digital demo episodes. I’ve never read Sanditon, but I’m still quite excited.

        Like

Comments are closed.