Mansfield Park, Penultimate Edition

That’s Vol. 3, Chapters 3 – 13, or regular chapters 34 – 44. Oy with the multiple editions, Jane!

So. Last week, everybody was horrible to Fanny about refusing Henry Crawford’s proposal. This remains the case. HOWEVER. There’s knowing you’re not into a guy who’s kind of a tool, and then there’s doing everything you can to AVOID being into a guy who maybe acted kind of like a tool once but has since proven pretty stellar. Guess which one our dear Fanny chooses?

And look: I know a little of what’s coming. This is not my first Jane Austen rodeo, and I know that in her world, handsome gentlemen who look too good to be true usually are. But for just this shining moment, when he comes to visit her and get her out of the hovel and walk arm in arm along the waterfront and say nice things to her little sister, would it kill her to get over herself and think maybe? Isn’t it possible that a guy could be kind of a jerk, then have a change of heart and prove his excellence? Wait, I think I read a book once that went kind of like that. IT WAS CALLED PRIDE AND PREJUDICE.

Also, let’s talk about Fanny’s Stockholm Syndrome. On one hand, of course her parents’ house is cramped and crowded and noisy; that’s why she was shuttled off to Mansfield in the first place. Nobody (except Fanny herself) expects her home visit to be all puppies and rainbows and high degrees of female accomplishment. But it’s not only the shrubberies that she misses—she loves Lady Bertram! She misses Mrs. Norris! This is the talk of a crazy person, which I might have thought was my newfangled modern brain talking, had not half the characters in the novel tried to point it out to her as well. Apparently the occasional fire in the East Room means true love.

And finally, a few assorted points:

– It is my dearest hope that Susan Price will accompany Fanny back to Mansfield, take one look at the whole situation, and drag her sister off to become pirate queens on the Thrush or something.

– “Fanny requires constant air and exercise”? REALLY, JANE? The girl who can’t make it past the cattle guard?

– Heh, Mr. Price is gross.

I am pleased to announce that the official Austenacious Mansfield Park read-along will, barring unwanted advances from a handsome scoundrel or a particularly vexing ha-ha, conclude Wednesday, April 18! Get your final chapters in now, folks, and bet on who Fanny ropes into marrying her with the power of her deep passivity.

Mansfield Park, Penultimate Edition

6 thoughts on “Mansfield Park, Penultimate Edition

  1. This post is made of awesome.

    “It is my dearest hope that Susan Price will accompany Fanny back to Mansfield, take one look at the whole situation, and drag her sister off to become pirate queens on the Thrush or something.”

    YES.

    Like

  2. Stephani says:

    These posts have actually made Mansfield seem like an enjoyable read–enjoyable in the sense that being sickened and disgusted by nearly every character in a book (even the so-called heroine) carries with it an odd sense of satisfaction.
    If only Susan Price COULD inject enough spine into Fanny to make her worthy of pirate-queenness. I have a feeling however that Fanny would only pine for Mansfield and feel horrified that the sailors weren’t more cultured and accomplished.

    Like

  3. Emily Michelle says:

    You guys, I’m the worst. I got to about chapter 10 and was so bored that I haven’t been able to force myself to pick it up since. But I have been reading these posts (I’ve seen the movies so no spoiler worries) and you make it sound, like Stephani said, like a rather enjoyable book. So maybe once I have some time I’ll try again.

    Like

    1. I was truly surprised how much more I liked it this time around. I sped through it and finished a couple of weeks ago. I’m glad I re-read, otherwise I would have simply ignored the book for the rest of my life!

      Like

  4. You’re so right about Billie Piper – that whole film was one big dolloping of wrong.

    I’ve felt the same way about Fanny’s (mal)treatment of Henry – that maybe she could’ve given him a break because it did seem as if he was really into her. But then I came across a commenter/reviewer on goodreads who made the point that if Crawford really DID love Fanny then he wouldn’t have kept forcing her hand; or have told Thomas Bertram about his intentions in the hope of cornering Fanny into accepting his proposal. And I can’t help seeing that p.o.v. now. Seems to me now that once Crawford was latched onto an idea, he couldn’t rest until it was a possibility, i.e. until he had won.

    Like

  5. Rani says:

    You ladies crack me up! The fun of reading Mansfield park is in recognizing the weaknesses each character posesses & poking fun! Fanny is SUCH a nervous, naive Nelly, you can’t help but laugh! She attracts a husband on the sheer obviousness that she needs to be taken care of! I don’t mean in the fundamentals, of course (she takes care of everyone else), but that she sees things like a 7 year old girl – everything is strictly by the book & ought to be as she’s been taught.

    Like

Comments are closed.