Just call me McMoneypants

According to researchers at the University of California, people with “wealthy” names are likely to be significantly richer than their counterparts with lower-class names—even centuries later. Apparently, the rigid class structure of earlier days is nothing compared to the social stagnation caused by any ambitions towards a class-free society. So good job, everyone!

Mr. Darcy and family would still be on the Who’s Who, apparently, while the Smiths would have worked their way up to the snootier classes early on and stayed there. One assumes the Bingleys have done all right for themselves. Otherwise, when it comes to Austen names, it’s hard to say: the Bennets and the Morlands and the Prices sound sort of middle-class, but without any Hooter-Tooters of Braintree* running around for contrast, who knows? Maybe everybody in the UK has a firm grasp of Norman and non-Norman surnames, but unless we’re talking about the McMoneypantses and the Povertine-Smythes, I can assure you I’d be in need of some form of Cliff’s Notes.

(One wonders, as well, how the post-Industrial Revolution blending of cultures affects these sorts of statistics: in light of massive immigration, what’s the distribution of names that weren’t around for good old William the Conqueror, and how do they relate to the very old but not very wealthy families? Am I overthinking this? It’s okay to back away slowly.)

If all else fails, though, it’s comforting to know that we’ll never be richer than the Darcys.

* Get the reference, get a cookie!

Just call me McMoneypants

4 thoughts on “Just call me McMoneypants

  1. Emily Michelle says:

    It’s interesting that Smith is a reasonably prosperous name when, in Persuasion, Sir Walter is so disdainful of Anne’s friend, who is “one of five thousand Mr Smiths whose names are to be met with everywhere.”

    Like

  2. Emily Michelle says:

    And of course I meant that Anne’s friend was married to one of the five thousand Mr Smiths. I know my genders, I swear.

    Like

  3. benjamina –

    You warm my heart.

    (Truthfully, CJ and Mrs. Hooter-Tooter may be my all-time favorite West Wing scene. I can’t even *think* about it without giggling like a crazy person, as I am currently doing in Starbucks. “It is REAL!”)

    Emily Michelle –

    It sounds like they were upwardly mobile. Or maybe Sir Walter was just being himself.

    Like

Comments are closed.