Worst. Jane Austen. Greeting Cards. Ever.

I am by no means the first person to think of quoting Jane Austen for my own profit. Indeed, the market for Jane Austen greeting cards, in particular, might be considered saturated. Funny, really, when you consider how few of her quotes say what she meant, out of their original context. That’s the good old irony at work. Even her most famous quote: “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a large fortune must be in want of a wife.” Did she mean that? I never can decide . . . However, that does not prevent me from suggesting my own line of greeting cards, and the (in)appropriate occasion for each.

Guests/hosts

It was a delightful visit; — perfect, in being much too short.

I will not torment myself any longer by remaining among friends whose society it is impossible to enjoy.

Weddings

Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance.

How little of permanent happiness could belong to a couple who were only brought together because their passions were stronger than their virtue.

A large income is the best recipe for happiness I ever heard of.

You have liked many a stupider person.

Get-well

My sore throats are always worse than anyone’s.

Those who do not complain are never pitied.

Retirement

You have delighted us long enough.

People always live for ever when there is any annuity to be paid them.

Life seems but a quick succession of busy nothings.

And the Laugh-a-Minute Miscarriages

Mrs Hall of Sherborne was brought to bed yesterday of a dead child, some weeks before she expected, ow[e]ing to a fright. I suppose she happened unawares to look at her husband.

Readers, what Jane Austen quote would you least like to see addressed to you? What quote do you think is the most misapplied, or the most misunderstood?

Photo credit:

Worst. Jane Austen. Greeting Cards. Ever.

4 thoughts on “Worst. Jane Austen. Greeting Cards. Ever.

  1. I would hate to be the butt of either Mr. Knightley’s censure or Mr. Bennet’s mirth. Both “Better be without sense then misapply it as you do” and “It is happy for you that you possess the talent of flattering with delicacy. May I ask whether these pleasing attentions proceed from the impulse of the moment, or are they the result of previous study?” would be absolutely mortifying.

    On the other hand, though I do not strive to emulate Elizabeth Elliot, a “It sometimes happens that a woman is handsomer at twenty-nine than she was ten years before” would be quite welcome.

    Like

  2. Not gonna lie: Every time I wish somebody would take his or her gross coughing elsewhere….I think of Kitty.

    Surely there’s a get-well card there, no?

    Like

  3. Christy says:

    How about condolences?

    “The poor old dowager could not have died at a worse time.”

    “You infer perhaps the probability of some negligence–some–or may it be–of something still less pardonable.”

    I would, however, love a greeting card with “I have just learnt to a hyacinth” on it.

    Like

  4. macbethp says:

    YES! “You have gained a new source of enjoyment, and it is well to have as many holds upon happiness as possible!”

    How about this for an engagement “depend upon it I SHALL marry him, whatever the gentleman’s reluctance or my own” (from one of her letters)

    Like

Comments are closed.